December 11, 2012

  • I like cleaning. It's therapeutic and I can revel in the cleanliness of a space afterwards. Sadly it doesn't last long here. Pine needles and dirt are constantly being tracked in from the outside, mostly by N. This is a "problem" I'm not used to dealing with this since not only being in the city, but also living in an apartment keeps your floors a heck of a lot cleaner longer. That being said, despite my desperately missing the city, I like the fact that we're living in a spot where such things can be tracked into the house at all.

    Let me just get one thing straight about how I feel about moving here. I have a love/hate relationship with this island. What I love about it is: the outdoors, the fresh air, my own laundry (and, therefore, being able to use my own cloth diapers for H), the rain on the roof, the fire place, the deer coming through our yard, having a car, looking at greenery not buildings. What I hate about it here is: the quieter lifestyle, feeling bored, feeling like a don't belong knowing this is temporary (and feels like a waste of time), not having friends here, having limited resources, no Starbucks (I know that one sounds really lame, but if I had a Starbucks that I could hang out at a few times a week I'd probably feel a little closer to home), no malls so I could just get out and be around people when I get cabin fever.

    So yeah, it's the little things that make me like it here. I don't think it's the winter gloominess that will get me this winter. I think it will be the lack of social interaction. Honestly I'm liking the weather here. I like the rain on our roof (as I mentioned) and I like taking a walk and seeing the clouds hanging low in the trees. It creates a mood and I think it looks cool. The city in gloom just looks depressing.

     

Recent Posts

Categories