June 21, 2012

  • chat with my midwife

    Today I had my much anticipated chat with my midwife about the steps we were going to take regarding my delivery. She talked to the OB who received the report on my ultrasound. She doesn't think I'm a good candidate for the ECV. My amniotic fluid is a little on the low side and because of that, her size, and the fact that she's frank breech and not complete breech the OB doesn't think it would work. Fair enough. So I told her I will go for the only option I have left: a scheduled cesarean. My midwife suggested July 6th when I reach 39 weeks. I told her that was the day I preferred, not because I explicitly want my daughter's birthday to be the 6th but because it's a Friday and Nate will be able to support me and stay with me all weekend. I am beyond excited! My anticipation of meeting my baby totally trumps all the risks that are involved with having a cesarean. Plus having a specific date in mind is helping me plan my next two weeks. It's no longer a game of hurry up and wait. In fact, I'm now in a position where I hope to God I don't go into labor before then. I've now been told several times that scheduled cesareans are easier to recover from than emergency ones. So I am dead set on this being scheduled. At this point my worst case scenario has become needing an emergency cesarean because labor decided to come early.

    So now I can do some more specific research, mainly on breast feeding after cesarean. I can also put together a birth plan specific to a cesarean birth. I am feeling so in control. It's great! I want to put my hospital bag together. I want to pull out the baby clothes I want to bring. I also want to assemble the stroller and pull out the car seat that comes with it and prep it for the big day. I need to pass the base off to my dad so he or my step mom can set it up in the car for when they drive us home. So much planning to do now, I love it!

    I just can't wait to actually finalize the scheduled date so I can share it with family and make plans for additional help after she's here since I probably won't be very functional for the first couple of weeks.

Recent Posts

Categories