October 29, 2012

  • Ok, I have been dying to get on here and write something, but I just keep getting distracted or H won't let me put her down. I guess I'll just need to blog with the Beco carrier on if she insists on being held. 

    Things are getting a little better. There are certain things I enjoy about this place: fresh, fragrant air, foggy mountains, surrounding greenery, my woodstove, the natural light this house gets, the fact that it's walkable distance to town. If I get thinking really hard about the city I start to miss it. If I drift into moments of quiet boredom I get a little sad, but I used to do that in the city too. There's plenty to keep me busy here at home. There's always housework to be done, I have books I can read, and there are shows on Netflix I could get into. I even have the P90X DVDs and while I'm not ready to commit to the workout, I could always do the stretching or yoga routines when H goes down for a nap. I thought the rain would bother me, but it turns out I love it when it rains because I can hear it on the roof. I got rain boots and a parka so I have no reason to let the rain keep me inside, which it would have done in the city anyway. 

    That's just what it comes down to here. Whether I'm in the city or here in the island, either way I'm going to be spending rainy dreary days at home, rocking and nursing my baby while watching TV. Sure I might have gotten out to a Starbucks, but I there are coffee shops in town here that I can walk to. With the baby it's not like we can just go out to the movies whenever we want anyway.

    And the epiphany hits...I don't think it's necessarily island life that I'm adjusting to. It's my new life as a mother that I'm adjusting to. All the things I think I'd be able to do in the city I probably wouldn't do anyway because I have a baby. Oh sure, there are things that I would be doing regardless of having a baby like walking up to my workplace and visiting my coworkers, maybe going to the mall just to walk around. But all I'm going to do is walk around a mall, why can't I just walk around outside and get some fresh air?

     

     

Comments (1)

  • I *loved* my Beco!!!  I was so sad when I finally wore it out (after 6 years of almost constant use, and using it with my special needs son until 4 yrs old.)  Also, yay for fresh air!!!!  

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories