June 15, 2012

  • ultrasound

    I went for my ultrasound this morning. She is frank breech, just as I suspected. I couldn't even take home a decent picture because she was, once again, "camera shy" and wouldn't give the tech a decent profile image. The ultrasound measured her at 6 lbs 10 oz. It's a little large for her gestational age, but I did some googling on that weight at 36 weeks and I'm finding women saying they've babies are measuring 7.5 lbs at the same gestation age. So 6 lbs 10 oz can't be that bad. I know she could be smaller or bigger. It's not accurate, but it's fun to know and interesting to see the potential results of my GD. It makes me wonder how big she would have been if I weren't diabetic. Would she be smaller? Would she have been bigger because I would eating way too many treats and junk food because I know I would have. I would have likely consumed lots of ice cream, potato chips, and non-diet sodas. I would eaten desserts after my meals when eating out to satisfy my sweet tooth. Instead I've cut out all those things I just mentioned, substituted some things (i.e. wheat and sugar free chocolate chip cookies, most of the carbs and sugars come from the chocolate chips themselves) and overall eat less.

    Now I must wait until Thursday to hear what my midwife has to say about baby girl's position. I don't think they can do much except give me suggestions on how to help her turn and I'm already exploring those options. One method I really want to try is swimming, but I need to go buy a new bathing suit top before that happens. My boobs haven't stopped growing and the same top that barely fit me in February doesn't fit anymore. Thankfully Old Navy sells individual bikini pieces for cheap in XL and XXL, so I should be able to find one that fits me. At the pool there is nothing worse than seeing a woman of any size, pregnant or not, wearing a bikini top that is too small for her. Too much side boob AND cleavage just looks horrid and skanky. There is a way for larger women to wear bathing suits and look classy and that is: the bathing suit simply fits properly.

    Anyway two of the ladies in my due date club have been swimming and one got her baby to turn completely and the other is seeing positive results. So maybe the pool would be successful for me too. I would probably find it relaxing anyway and it's the ultimate method of gentle exercise. Now that I have all the time in the world to go I have no excuse. I should go at least three times a week I think. No, make that 4 times a week.

Comments (2)

  • i just have to say that i LOVED swimming while i was super pregnant. i think mostly because i felt weightless and after 30+ weeks of feeling huge it felt nice to feel weightless haha. it was really relaxing and really nice. i think it's a fantastic option. i heard that physically trying to turn the baby (i guess with your hands?) is dangerous....but i don't really know. what is "frank" breech? 

  • @grizzlybearr - Frank breech is when the baby is not only head up, but folded in half with feet by the head. So the bum is presented toward the birth canal. My little Hannah probably spends a great deal of her time sucking on her toes.
    I haven't heard that ECV's (which is manually turning a baby externally using the hands) are dangerous per se. If they are then they can't be any more dangerous than a c-section and personally I'd rather have someone press on my belly to make the baby turn than cut me open. Now that I'm done work I plan on spending my time swimming as much as I can. I just need to get a bigger bikini top because the girls won't stop growing  

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories