June 16, 2012

  • techniques

    Today I've been trying different techniques to encourage baby girl to flip. I've done a few inversions off the couch, been on hands and knees rocking back and forth, and knelt on the floor with my butt sticking straight up. The last one doesn't feel good on the neck, but it's easier to hold for a longer period of time than the inversion. I even tried some more simple techniques like shining a flashlight on my belly and using a cold and hot compress simultaneously. She wiggled a lot, but to no avail. What kills me is that I have no idea how these things don't make her flip. With her head crammed up into my ribs and her bum sliding out of my pelvis how is it that she simply doesn't just...turn? Why doesn't she seek more head room? How does her poor little head tolerate a cold compress? It baffles me.

    Well, I will continue to do these things multiple times a day, plus hit the pool, until I know for sure that she's head down. Once she's head down I'm buying a birthing a ball to help her drop and STAY there.

    She still has time, she still has time, she still has time....

Comments (5)

  • (((((Hugz)))))  Turn baby, turn!  Did the u/s have any indication of a nuchal cord? (And I know you said you can't do a vaginal breech, but at least frank breech *is* the safest position for a vaginal breech!)

  • @the_Coley_he_seeks - The tech did a cord doppler, but didn't mention it being nuchal. The cord doppler scan checked out fine even though she had a hard time getting a decent look because baby girl was pretty much hugging it all. This is what cheeses me off about the whole vaginal birth thing. I do make a good candidate because she's frank breech and I'm comfortable with the idea of giving it shot if I were able. I would just plan for one, sit back and relax and wait to go into labor. 

  • i really hope some of these things work!! when is you due date?

  • @OhFiddleheads - I wish there were a care provider (including hospital) near you willing to try a vaginal breech.    Would it make a difference if you show the studies and such that conclude that a vaginal breech delivery has been deemed better than a c-section?

  • @grizzlybearr - Thanks! Me too! I'm due July 13th.

    @the_Coley_he_seeks - I don't think so. I don't think a doctor, especially a midwife, can step outside of hospital policy. I also think it's a matter of training, or lack thereof. I do plan on asking my midwife if she was trained in vaginal breech birth. I'm curious to know if midwives are even being trained in this, and if they are whether they would follow through with one at a home birth, but not at the hospital due to policy. There is a hospital in Vancouver that allows VBBs because it has a special team for that purpose, but I think it's too far away for me, especially when we don't have a car. I don't feel comfortable trying to get out to a hospital that's 30-40 minutes away through nothing but city (and city traffic) while in labor and in what vehicle I don't even know. The hospital I'm delivering at is 5 minutes away and that makes me feel so much better. My hospital is easy to get to and has a great NICU should anything happen to baby.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories